Monday With the Fussies

September 22, 2008 § 3 Comments

Sunday was kind of an interesting day around here.

Daniel woke up at 4:30 am.  I decided to scoop him up and put him in bed with us.  He was very interested in grabbing the hubby’s nose.  We were in stitches.  He wasn’t really interested in going to sleep, so I went down on the couch with him, pulled out the laptop and watched an episode of Burn.Notice with the boy on my chest.   He fell asleep finally and I put him back in bed.  Around 7 am they were both up.  I woke up the hubby to help out.  Daniel was very excited to see his daddy and was on all fours in his crib.  He launched himself at Daddy but the crib was in the way.  He smacked his little head against the side of the crib and the screaming started.  He was fine, no bump or anything.

We brought the kids downstairs and let them play for a while before breakfast.  I fed them and then went on my shopping errands.  I was back and put the kids down for their nap.  They were pretty good for the hubby while I was gone.  The hubby had big plans for the yard (as per usual on a Sunday).  I even offered to help him.  He declined the help.  Oh well.  His loss.

When the kids got up, I decided that I would at least try to use the new bike and trailer that my mom got me for my birthday.  It was a beautiful day here and I just couldn’t let it go to waste.  So, the hubby hooked it all up and I loaded up the kids.

Okay…it might be designed for two kids, but not my two kids.  They were literally hanging by the arm straps.  And yes, my kids aren’t small, but they were smashed together.  By next summer, I don’t think they will fit at all!!!  But I was determined…so off we went.

Now, I haven’t been on a bike since oh, I don’t know, 1995?  Maybe?  I knew I wouldn’t fall or anything but I did forget about a certain muscle group on the front of my thighs….

If I had to do it all over again, I would have gone on a ride by myself just to get the hang of it.  But no, I was dragging 50 lbs. of kids and how ever much the trailer weighs….it was a bit of a challenge.  We rode around the park and I discovered that poor Daniel doesn’t like bumps.  At all.  Blood curdling objections and screaming at bumps! So back we came.  The hubby could hear the boy screaming over his weed wacker.

It was time for lunch so I fed the kids and put Daniel up for a nap.  Melissa was on her own little nap strike and was content playing in the baby jail, so I let her go.

I made brownies yesterday too…haven’t tried them yet, but they smell great. And I am trying to behave as far as food goes.  It was nothing fancy…just a mix from the grocery store.  I wasn’t feeling that adventurous!!!

We opted for pizza for supper.  I let the hubby pick out the topings.  We ended up with pepperoni, sausage and onion.  It wasn’t bad.  So much for behaving….the diet went right out the window.

The Eagles and the Phillies were on yesterday…at the same time…it was heaven to be a Philadelphia Fan…since they BOTH WON!!!!!!!!!!!

We bathed the kids and put them to bed.  Melissa was wiped out.  She rolled over on her side with her bottle and was out while Daniel was still in the tub.  Daniel, again, was fussy.  He screamed until I picked him up and brought him downstairs.  He layed on Daddy for a while but was still not happy.  So, I scooped him up and put him in bed with me.  He was getting really tired so I took the chance and put him back in his crib.  He was good until 1:30.  They were both up at 3am.  I changed them and gave them some juice.  They were both up again at 5.  Melissa had taken her diaper off….so I am doing laundry….again…..since even the mattress pad was soaked.

They were miserable when they got up today.  I brought them down and fed them and now they are playing and chatting.  Never a dull moment around here.

I really wanted to go to the party store today and look for stuff for their first birthday party…but I don’t know if I have the energy…and I have already had 2 cups of coffee.

Who knows what wonders will unfold for me today…………….other than sore thighs…..

§ 3 Responses to Monday With the Fussies

  • We have a bike trailer too – it says it is designed for two kids – and our almost 12 mo old twins are also smashed together in there… even at 10 mos they seemed too big for it!

  • pillarr1 says:

    I am exhausted just listening to your day. Can you post a pic of the baby jail and the baby mat that you picked out? Melissa took her diaper off? Oh that is too much! My husband was cracking up when I told him. I told him that it sounds funny but maybe not so funny if you are the one dealing with the aftermath (ha ha!).

  • silver says:

    The bike! Ouch! (I never got one of those trailers cause I used to fall off/hit something every time I went on my bike… but that was back in 95 to I think! :))

    Ohh I don’t miss the days of night wakings… I hope it ends soon for you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Monday With the Fussies at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

