The Curtain

October 29, 2008 § 1 Comment

seems to be lifting, ever so slowly, and I am starting to deal with things a little better.  The hubby has been a lot more helpful with the babies, going even so far as to get up with them in the night.  The doctor has increased my meds and gave me something to help me to sleep.  I took it last night but it didn’t really help.  I am just trying to deal with one disaster at a time. 

I am exhausted mentally and physically, but I am sure that the kids not sleeping through the night has a lot to do with that.  They are teething.  There is nothing we haven’t tried to help to soothe them.  They both get ibuprofin before bed.  They are warm, dry and fed.  They still get a bottle in the middle of the night.  Short of moving Daniel into another room (which I am dreading) there isn’t much else we can do.

The kids have been a handful the past few days.  Melissa is constantly pulling herself up and will probably be walking in a few weeks.  Daniel is starting to pull himself up and has now started to imitate Melissa when she stands up in the baby jail and peeks through the holes.  Melissa has also started to self feed.  She loves her morning cheereos.  Daniel isn’t picking up food yet, but he pushes it around on the tray of his high chair.

On the bright side, I have reconnected with some old friends on Face.book.  It still amazes me that after 20 years, we can just pick up where we left off.  Getting to talk to a few of my friends from the camp that I went to as a child and worked at as a teenager has been a real big blessing and an unexpected source of support.

So I am here.  I am quiet.  I am reflective.  I am slowly getting ‘me’ back.

The Phillies better win tonight…I mean, it snowed here yesterday…that has to be some kind of a sign….

GO PHILLIES GO!

§ One Response to The Curtain

  • cat says:

    Hi there – stumbled onto your blog to notice that I am on your blogrol. I have never seen a comment, so I didn’t know about you. I will definitely come around again seeing our kids are so close in age. All I can say is hang in there! It is so tough to have your first kid – in your case, two. Our relationship also took a bit of a knock after The Little Miss birth, but not after the twins. It is a huge transition from being a couple to becoming a family – we had to learn to be a couple again. Good luck and I will keep you in my prayers – lots of love and light to you. And yes, I had PND after her birth (only got diagnosed at 9 months), I used medication, got a bit of counseling and was all better a few weeks later.

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Curtain at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta