Unplanned….

April 11, 2009 § 5 Comments

Love Date
Image by Henry8.0via Flickr

Sometimes, just every once in a while, I like a surprise.

Last night…I got the idea in my head that it would be nice to go out to dinner with my husband….alone….(i.e. no screaming toddlers in tow)  So, at 4:30pm,I called the “Grandparent Babysitting Service”.  They were more than happy to oblige.  We got the kids in their pajamas, made a couple of bottles, threw some food in the diaper bag, did my hair, put on earrings and we were out the door.  We dropped the kids off and my dad even complimented me on how I looked.  I guess he is used to seeing me in a baseball hat, t shirt and sweats….

We were free!  We were unattached! Wahoo!  Our last date night was back in February, so we were way overdue.  Normally, we would go for Mexican, and there was a Mexican grille close by, but we both had a hankering for a big, fat, juicy steak.  So we opted for Longhorn.  I had a great salad…strawberry and walnut with a raspberry vinagrette  and feta cheese and the hubby had a house salad with chipoltle  ranch dressing.  He ordered the T-bone steak with jalapeno coleslaw and I ordered the filet mignon with the mashed potatoes.  He had his normal beer and I had a beer, but then I spotted the raspberry margarita on the menu and just couldn’t resist.  And if that weren’t decadent enough, I ordered dessert……yup…..me.  I ordered :

Golden Nugget Fried Cheesecake

Creamy cheesecake lightly breaded and golden-fried to crisp perfection. Served over ice cream with strawberry sauce and drizzled with a raspberry-caramel swirl.

OH MY GOD!  YOU HAVEN’T TASTED HEAVEN UNTIL YOU TRY THIS DESSERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Diet, what diet?

 I felt very happy.  Very full…but very content.  I had a great date with my hubby. For a moment, we felt like “us” again.  We picked up the kids, drove home, and put the kids to bed.  They each were up once in the night, but I will take it.  They were nice enough to sleep in until 8 this morning.  Sigh…..

But today, it is rainy and yucky out…..and we are stuck inside while the hubby is at work.

But still…last night was great.

banner

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Unplanned….

  • Amy Warden says:

    Sounds wonderful!! Just what you needed…. Congratulations on winning the soap giveaway too!! I think Margi has been in touch with you to find out what you want. I’ll send it out as soon as I hear from her since she’s the hostess. 🙂

  • Helene says:

    Kari, that is so awesome!!! I’m so glad you and the hubby got out for a date night! It definitely does help you rediscover the fun side of your relationship!!

  • pillarr1 says:

    Longhorn is so awesome and date night sounds great. It is nice just to get out with the hubby. My mother in law just arrived and we will be able to go out more. In fact, we are going on vacation to Savannah and the islands of the Georgia coast from April 19 – 24. I am really looking forward to it. I have to try the salad! We are going to Longhorn in the next couple of days.

  • Sounds like a blast and yummy food!

  • Amy says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful date! And that dessert is calling my name!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Unplanned…. at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

