Where to even start…

April 25, 2009 § 3 Comments

Western Connecticut State University
Image via Wikipedia

The last week or so has just flown by.  I can’t even think where to begin the recount of our adventures….

The trip to Connecticut was long….We were to caravan up there with my parents and my sister.  But, after much deliberation, we decided that we would just “meet them there”.   They stopped every hour or so to stretch, use the facilities, or get more coffee.  My father doesn’t have the ability to pass a coffee shop without stopping and making a purchase of a caffeinated beverage and some piece carbohydrate laden cookie-muffin-biscuit or the like. And the weather was just awful; grey and raining then entire trip.

We stopped in Danbury CT and I showed the hubby where I attended school (Western Connecticut State University), where I lived, (tiny 3rd floor apartment)and stopped at the local ice cream place since the hubby had a craving for hot fudge sundae.

We arrived to Camp Connri  in AshfordCT before anyone else and tried to get settled.  We had the place to ourselves and there was lots of room for the kids to run….and boy! did they run….constantly…. 

I helped Mom get the final preparations done for their retirement luncheon. My hubby followed the kids around the conference center as they ran and ran.  By the way,  they did NOT sleep on the way up.  So I figured that they would be pretty tired after supper.  My cousin came down from Massachusetts and we decided that the grandparents could handle putting the kids down so we could go out and shoot some pool.  Melissa went down like a champ…but not Daniel. Nope.  Not a chance.  Despite my mother rocking him, the minute they put him in the pack and play, he was screaming.  Mom thinks it might be separation anxiety.

So, it was a rough night.  we got up the next morning and fed the kids, got them dressed, relaxed a little and then before we knew it, it was time for the luncheon.  I got to see my uncle and aunt, cousins Lisa and her girls (Casey and Mackenzie), my cousin Sara and her husband, Scott, my aunt Linda, and lots of my parents’ friends.  The kids almost made it through the luncheon before they melted down.  So the hubby took the kids back to our room.  My sister and I had to say a few words about what it was like growing up as a Salvation Army Officer‘s Kid….

Soon after lunch, we loaded up the car and headed back to PA.  And once again, my children did NOT sleep in the car.  Melissa babbled the entire trip.  She has found her voice!  We got home and let the kids play for a while before putting them down for bed.  They woke up once…not too bad.

Yesterday, I spent the day cleaning the house.  It needed it!  We also had an estimator coming last night to give us a quote on refinishing our kitchen cabinets.  Well, then it was not just the cabinets, but also a new counter top and sink….so, thanks to Kitchen Magic….we are getting a new kitchen.  It is going to cost a pretty penny but will add so much value to the house.

I am so stoked about the kitchen!!! I hate the dark wood the we currently have.  It is way to “Brady Bunch” for my tastes.

And poor Danielhas another rash.  He was up ALL NIGHT itching, despite the benadryl, the zyrtec and being in bed with us.  I am exhausted but got a brief break this morning when Mom and Dad came over so I could visit the “Mommy Market”.  I managed to get more books for the kids, some sippy cups, a pair of Nike sandals for Daniel, a backpack full of wooden blocks, and a baby gate for $20.  I love Mommy Markets……

I know that there is so much more I could write but my house is quiet for a few minutes and I think I might just try to enjoy it!  I will post pictures asap!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Where to even start…

  • pillarr1 says:

    Sounds like a great time. I am glad you guys were all together at the retirement lunch. Those moments are so important. Looking forward to the pics. What’s up with the car nap strike? Kids are SUPPOSED to fall asleep before you pull out of the driveway! Mine will NOT sleep in the car. Ha ha!!

  • Soralis says:

    Sounds way to busy for me! 🙂 My Kids don’t sleep in the car either! Which would be fine if they didn’t get overtired and became very hard to deal with later! 🙂

    Take care

  • Your trip sounds worthwhile. It sounds like the children did pretty well for their age. Mine would have done what yours did, run, run, and run.
    Have you ever tried giving Daniel a bath with either baking soda or Aveeno bath packets added to the water? I’ve found that adding a cup of baking soda to their bath water helps rashes a lot. Sometimes I use the Aveeno bath packets too. It’s worth a shot, if nothing else has helped. It soothes it so they don’t want to scratch all the time.

    My sister got a new kitchen too. New kitchens are always exciting.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where to even start… at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

