2 am phone call….never,ever good news

May 5, 2009 § 3 Comments

But we got one.  The hubby’s sister called to tell us that their father may be dying. 

The home that he lives in transferred him to the local hospital because he was bleeding from the mouth.  He is now in the ICU, but they still don’t know where the bleeding is coming from.  If he is stable enough, they will scope him sometime today. 

He had been doing fine and was even chipper, according to the skilled care nurse that I spoke to this morning.  The hubby’s brother lives close by and is also  there.  I asked the hubby if he wanted to fly home, but he is afraid that this is a false alarm and he is worried about leaving me alone with the kids for several days.  I told him that I would be fine, my parents are close by now and would help out.  But he is still waiting to talk to his brother and sister.

I just feel so helpless.  I don’t know what I can do for my hubby.  I guess just pray.  I guess that is all anyone can do.  I have never had the chance to meet my father in law.  We talked about going out there this year….by out there, I mean North Dakota, but the kids are not exactly stellar travelers.  The idea of getting on 2 planes  (because there are no direct flights from Philly to Fargo)with two kids, two car seats, two suitcases, a double stroller….yeah, not such a great idea.  And driving…two full days in the car…I don’t think so.  But I know, that if it was my dad, wild horses couldn’t keep me away. 

The hubby didn’t have the closest relationship with his Dad growing up…there are still a lot of hard feelings that the hubby holds.  The last time we had a scare, the hubby broke down.  I think he is more upset that he will be the oldest family member, and in his mind, that means that he is the next to die.

So, say a prayer for my father in law, for my hubby to find peace, for me to be strong for my hubby.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to 2 am phone call….never,ever good news

  • pillarr1 says:

    I am so sorry to hear about his dad. Maybe you could encourage him again to go out there. Tell him your specific plan for the kids for the next few days, like maybe your mom will come over and help or even spend the night (that’s always great). Reassure him that you will be OK. Sounds like he really wants to go to check on him. Will be praying for your family.

  • I sorry about his father. I hope he will be alright and that your hubby won’t have to lose his father right now.

  • cat says:

    Thoughts, love and prayers to your hubby and you Kari – not always so simple to support when needed.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2 am phone call….never,ever good news at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

