Father In Law

May 11, 2009 § 5 Comments

Crowned Lily
Image by Creativity+ Timothy K Hamilton via Flickr

My kids will never get to meet their other grandfather.  He is dying.  He is comatose with very low blood pressure, and is somehow, still bleeding internally.  The home that he lived in (which is the North Dakota Soldier’s home) was administering all of him meds at the same time, rather than spacing the dosages out. When they scoped him, the found whole pills, that they could still identify.  That is what may have caused all the ulcers.  He had one good day and then was vomitting blood and became unresponsive.  He is getting blood transfusions, and is on dopamine, but there are no heroic efforts.  They are not transferring him to the “main” hospital in Fargo.

So this is the end.  Rest in Peace.

At 4 am, my father picked up my husband and drove him to the Philadelphia airport.  He had a 6:20 am flight to Minneapolis and then a puddle jumper  to Fargo.  There are NO direct flights to Fargo.

My husband doesn’t want to be there. Not even a little bit.  I just hope that he makes it to see his father alive.  His sister is picking him up at the airport and is even letting him use one of her cars, so we don’t have to spend a mint on a rental.  Believe it or not, the airport sold out of rental cars. So, Deb has been a real blessing.

The hubby just wants me there.  And I wish there was someway I could have gone.  But the kitchen remodel starts  tomorrow.  And the kids are too much for Mom and Dad to handle for 3 days.  We have to work up to that.

So I am home alone, with 2 kids, and three dogs….and I am sad.  I know that this is hurting the hubby more than he is showing.  I am sad because my kids will never meet him. I sad that I can’t be there for my hubby when he needs me. I am sad that the hubby is only spending 3 days out there.  His  father may linger.  And I know that he won’t go back for the funeral. 

Crappy monday….and I am out of coffee.

banner

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Father In Law

  • Mary says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your father in law. Prayers up for him as well as for your hubby and the rest of your family as you navigate through this tough journey. Big hugs!!

  • Oh Kari, I’m so sorry! It is a crappy Monday! Sending you many hugs and peace.

  • Amanda says:

    I am so sorry that you’re all having to go through this. I can’t imagine how hard this is. You’re in my thoughts and prayers. (((hugs)))

  • We are from God, and to Him is the return… I’m so sorry to hear this news, I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  • pillarr1 says:

    OH no! I am so sorry to hear about your F-I-L. I am glad that your husband will get a chance to see his father. When I hear about someone dying that way, it makes me so sad. I hope he is comfortable (if that is possible) and not in too much pain. I will be thinking of you guys.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Father In Law at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

