Is It Tuesday Yet?

June 1, 2010 § 5 Comments

broken foot timeline
Image by Aka Hige via Flickr

 

What an “interesting” weekend….

So Friday was the circus. That was a lot of fun! Saturday, the hubby had to work, so me and the Twinkies loaded up and headed off to my cousin’s place in Plymouth Meeting for a cookout. That was also a lot of fun, and I did something I haven’t done in decades….I rode a tire swing. It scared the crap out of me but was still pretty fun. The Twinkies had a great time playing with their cousins. And then they started getting tired. Yeah…go figure.

I loaded them back up and they fell asleep in the car (seems like they ALWAYS do that) and drove home. They got a whole 10 minute nap for the entire day. And then decided that staying up until almost 10:30 pm was a good idea. Yeah, not so much in my book.

Sunday, I went over to help mom wrap her legs for her (lipodema) and for her to show me the next step in how to crochet. Yes, I am attempting to learn to crochet. I come from a long line of women who could make amazing things….and all I seem to be able to do is make a chain and then tie myself up in knots. I came back home and helped the hubby with his latest project in the backyard. You see, we had railroad ties running along our fence that we share with our neighbors. Hubby hates them, he has always hated them, and so we all finally dug them out. I drove the Twinkies down to Mom and Dad‘s house and borrowed my Dad’s truck and off to Home Depot we went. So far so good….

When we got home, I was helping the hubby unload the topsoil and the 12 pieces of 2 x 8 x 8 boards. And wouldn’t you know….I dropped the last one right on my foot. My right foot. Right on top of my right foot.

Holycrap…holycrap…holycrap…….YYYYYOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCHHHHHH!

So it was off to the Emergency Room…..I couldn’t walk, I couldn’t put weight on my foot, I couldn’t move my toes. No, it wasn’t broken, but today I am little Miss Black Foot. No pun intended, since I am actually Blackfoot Indian. I wonder if my ancestors were clumsy and dropped stuff on their feet too!

We were supposed to have my parents and Aunt L, who is visiting from Buffalo over for a cookout yesterday for the holiday. That did not happen. And just when things couldn’t get any worse, they always do. Poor Little D decided to vomit up everything in his tummy and run a 102 degree fever. All this happened after I took my pain pill for my foot, so Little Miss Stoned Off Her Butt Blackfoot, hobbled around, trying to find the thermometer, Tylenol suppositories, take the puke covered blankets to the wash and start a cool bath for her sick little boy.

Is it Tuesday yet?

Dare to dream, hope, believe, seek, feel , find and love.

https://amama2twins.wordpress.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Is It Tuesday Yet?

  • Holly B says:

    Sorry this happened to you. Don’t hate me for laughing at the way you told it.

  • A Mama 2 Twins says:

    No worries…..That’s just what I get for trying to be She-Ra! I should just keep my butt in the kitchen where it belongs……

  • Susan says:

    At least it was the LAST board! (:

    Boy, that looks terrible, Kari. I hope it heals soon. Are they sure it wasn’t too swollen to see if it is broken? Good thing it’s summer so you don’t have to wear boots. Good luck keeping up with the twins…

  • Sheri says:

    Oh dear – not a fun weekend… Hope D is feeling better. Thank God your foot isn’t broken. xoxo

  • TornadoTwos says:

    Oh my word that looks painful! And then your little guy had to get sick? My word, your life has the same kind of timing that mine does!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is It Tuesday Yet? at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

