Living the Proverb ICLW Day 2

June 22, 2010 § 6 Comments


Benjamin Franklin said “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise.”

OK…I am gonna go out on a limb here and paraphrase. “Early to bed, and early to rise, makes a MAMA2TWINS healthy, wealthy and wise….as long as she has good coffee in the house….otherwise….look out!”

Yesterday was the longest day of the year…and it seemed like the longest day of the year. Poor Little D got up at 4 am and only napped for 2 hours in the afternoon. Miss M…well, she rolls with the punches. As long as she has Nick Jr. and her blanket she can pretty much handle anything I throw at her. Her blanket is like my coffee…..

We ran yesterday. From suppertime to bedtime… we ran. We played, we danced, we clapped, we made sandcastles in the sandbox. We helped Daddy pour dirt. We got dirty. We got a boo-boo on our chubby little knee. But Daddy fixed it.

I’m healthy. I am off my PPD (Postpartum Depression)medicine, hopefully for good. I waned down the dose but have yet to actually inform my doctor of my decision to do so. I sought out help. Help I received. I am feeling better now and can cope without the assistance of modern pharmacology.

I am wealthy. I have everything I need and lots of stuff that in fact, I really don’t need (Ahem…there will be a garage sale mid July if you wanna swing by….Let’s Make A Deal, baby!) I am blessed to have my mother and father, my sister and brothers in law, my aunts, my uncle, my cousins, my nephews, my nieces….they all love me and the all love the babies. We don’t all live near each other, but come together when it is important. I love them dearly. Don’t get me wrong….am I still bummed about not getting to $40K job…..? you’re darn toot-in’ I am bummed. Could I have paid off everything we owe and then some with that money? heck yeah! Will I somehow muddle through? Yup. I’m tactical!

Wise? Who me? Not always, but I am a work in progress. I am slowly figuring out this how to be a mama…and in turn, how to be a MAMA2TWINS. Unless you do it on a daily basis or have done it…you don’t really understand the chaos. Please…mothers to higher order multiples…I have a ton of respect for what you do. It is just that when there are more than twins, it seems like it is socially acceptable to “get professional help”. You don’t really see a bunch of twin moms with au pairs and nannies. I am sure that they are out there…but it would not be my cup of tea. It would be like me cleaning the house because the maid was coming over….just makes no sense.

So…Welcome to Day 2 of ICLW week…..Get in, Sit Down, (I’m not gonna say “Shut Up”…I love comments too much) and Hold on!!!!

If you would not be forgotten
As soon as you are dead and rotten,
Either write things worthy reading,
Or do things worth the writing.

~Ben Franklin

Man!  He had some good ones! Peace in your village….mine is filled with crazy people…….

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Living the Proverb ICLW Day 2

  • Me says:

    Early to bed….does not make me get up any earlier unfortunately – I love my bed too much LOL

    Here for ICLW
    Rach @
    #26 http://www.thegalwho.wordpress.com
    #27 http://www.themissruby.blogspot.com

  • Kir says:

    reading that was like taking laying on the couch with a nice blankie and a nice warm cup of something.

    I loved it…and even if your village is filled with crazy people….at least it’s never boring.

    HUGS

  • pandabox33 says:

    Thank you for your comment on my blog !
    I let go slowly of my antidepressants…one day at a time and my doctor was informed but not really happy about it. If I had listened to him I would take pills forever, I would also take something for sleeping, Prozac, an appetite suppressant, an appetite stimulant, pills for migraines, and I would go out on Crescent street every night.

  • Britt says:

    Your twins are precious! And I agree with your earlier commenter…earlier to bed for me just means more sleep! Hope you have a great ICLW!!!

  • Heather Mott says:

    All I did was read this post and I feel like I have a ton in common with you..wow you sound so darn real and I love that. Your blog is great and I am now a follower. I want to thank you for joining my facebook page (mott multiples) and for your input. Lets just be clear that anything over 1 child can be complete chaos and dear god if you are starting at 4am and getting 1 nap you deserve help…I have limited help and I could literally chew off my left arm most days by the end. I just keep thinking that it will get easier as they get older…I dealt with some post pardom too so I am soo glad you asked for help and got thru it. You are a great writer and fun to read. Glad to meet you.

    Heahter

  • Mrs. Gamgee says:

    Wow… reading about your day makes me tired!! Maybe I need to start going to bed earlier…

    ICLW

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Living the Proverb ICLW Day 2 at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

