Holy Cow! It’s Thursday!

June 24, 2010 § 4 Comments


ICLW Day # 4….early in the morning, before it gets too hot, with her daughter in the booster seat eating Rice Krispies…




Holy Cow! It’s Thursday! When did that happen? Some weeks fly by and then other weeks…DRAG! Maybe it is because if it gets any hotter around here, people are just going to burst into flame. It has been 90+ for the last week. I am part iceberg…so you know I am not liking this. I just can’t wait to see my electric bill this much! Oh Goody!

Speaking of bills,..

I know that we struggled financially when we were TTC. I mean, I was spending $2k every month on injectables that I was getting from free.garage.sale.com (buying people’s left overs and what they couldn’t use if their cycle was cancelled) (How crazy was that…..think of the risks…..I wasn’t desperate for a baby, was I?)and that was just when we were doing IUI‘s. Then came the IVF….then after the failed IVF and my one rotten miserable (impenetrable) egg we had no choice but to move on to ICSI. Pricey pricey pricey! But you get so far and you are not just emotionally invested in the idea of a family, but also financially. I do not miss those days of pinching every stinking penny to make sure that we could try again.

But I digress….Remember a few weeks ago, I dropped a big ole 2x8x8 on my foot and went to the ER? Yeah….well, I got the bill yesterday. Yup…our portion is $900. Yup, for an hour and a half, 2 percocets and 3 x rays……and that amount doesn’t include the “professional” fee for the doctor who talked to me for 35 seconds. Maybe she is splitting it with the nurse in the black scrubs (what is the POINT of black scrubs? How do you know when they are DIRTY?) who was just so nice to me that I wanted to show her a neat trick I could do with my crutches (that I brought with me!!!). The trick goes something like this…..sit there and I will knock your head off your torso if you come near me again……. I called the insurance company….United Ripoff, I mean United Healthcare….and the claims rep explained it to me. I told her that next time I need to go to the ER, I am going to tell them I have no insurance….because it would be cheaper for me. Grrrr…..

We had a nice supper last night….boneless ribs and corn on the cob. I dipped mine into my favorite sauce…it is Aunt Caroline’s Dill Pickle BBQ sauce.  (check them out… this stuff is the bomb!) The kids are very much into eating whatever we are eating. Actually that is a lie. They could care less what I am eating. But, if its on Daddy’s plate….fogetaboutit! The poor man is going to wither into nothing at all……and he is skinny to begin with…..Oh to have that problem!!!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Holy Cow! It’s Thursday!

  • Kir says:

    Morning GalThursday 🙂

    we are really broke, the IVF was just the tip of it, I love my kiddos but wow, I miss new shoes for no reason…ya know?

    It is HOT,…we had them in the pool again last night for an hour and then a tubby. Hosing them down is a good thing.

    Have a great day my friend 🙂

  • Linda says:

    Yay! Giveaways! I love them! I totally would love to win the Lexar SD card, as I am always losing mine! I have missed out on a lot of great photo opportunities because I can’t find my cards! lol

  • marisa says:

    This week is flying by!

  • Jackie says:

    Ugh, medical bills and insurance… the horrors. DH finds himself on the phone with our insurance companies and doctors offices all the time, just fighting to get them to (gasp!) cover something. And it’s especially a slap in the face when you’re treated like a burden at the hospital! Sorry you’re stuck with a high bill and a not-so-lovely experience.
    Happy ICLW anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holy Cow! It’s Thursday! at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

