O Coffee, My Coffee! ICLW day #5

June 25, 2010 § 3 Comments

Walt Whitman's use of free verse became apprec...
Image via Wikipedia

So, it is date night….we are going out for Mexican food tonight.  Mom is coming over to watch the Twinkies.  It has been a while since we had a date night, so I am kind of looking forward to this one.  Some times, I think we all need to just separate Mommy and Daddy from the kids, so that Mommy and Daddy don’t get lost.  What do you do to make sure that you and yours stay connected?  I am always looking for ideas…..

And just because I am such a huge coffee buff….A very good friend of mine in the Great White North wrote this adaptation of Walt Whitman‘s O Captain! My Captain! For me this morning as an ode to that dark beverage that I so love.  Not really what I was planning on writing about on Day 5 of ICLW…but what the hay!

O coffee my coffee! your grateful drip is done,
The pot has weathered every drop, the prize we sought is won,
The mug is near, the water was clear, the people all exulting,
While follow eyes the steady pour, the kettle grim and daring;
But O heart! heart! heart!
O the bleeding drops of brown,
Where on the counter my head lies,
Fallen sleepy and worn down.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to O Coffee, My Coffee! ICLW day #5

  • Kir says:

    I love the poem(soooo appropriate) ,,,and your blog changes every day…is that intentional or is there something I should know about you…LOL 🙂

    we got to the movies a lot, we get a babysitter and just go out, have dinner, see a movie, talk to each other and stay connected. The time before it and after are still parent crazy, but for those 4 or 5 hours…HEAVEN and worth every penny of babysitter. 🙂

    Have fun tonight!!!!!

  • A Mama 2 Twins says:

    Kir….
    I get bored with my wordpress themes…..and they are always coming up with new ones…so, its kind of like shoes….gotta try them on to see if they fit. I am quite fond of this new one and may leave it up for awhile. Okay…and maybe there is a touch of ADD thrown in there for good measure!

    TTYS,

    K

  • Ha ha!!! I love the coffee poem. You should get that printed on a coffee mug!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading O Coffee, My Coffee! ICLW day #5 at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

