Absence Explained

July 26, 2010 § 6 Comments

I have not been blogging, for a few reasons, some of which I am not going to post.  But primarily, because I have been trying to focus more on my son’s new issues.

Like most 2 year old boys, he has good days and not so good days.  He has tantrums.  He gets frustrated with his sister.  He wants, what he wants, when he wants.

We had some concerns because his “vocabulary” was not up to his sister’s level and had an appointment set up with our pediatrician back in February.  D suddenly seemed to be picking up new words and we decided to postpone his appointment.  But then, the more M picked up words and could express herself, the more frustrated that D got because he couldn’t.  He started biting himself, banging his head, and being very aggressive with me and with M.

So, we went to the pediatrician, who referred us to the Intermediate Unit’s Early Intervention Unit to have D evaluated.

And the results were NOT what we were expecting.

At All!

In the five areas they evaluated, D scored at an 18 month level in three of the categories (Cognition, Speech, and Social).   They believe that D has “Global Developmental Delays”.  I don’t know why…I don’t know how…I don’t know when this happened.   I am scared to death of those three little words.  Was it due to his prematurity?  Was it due to the supplemental oxygen he received?  I am just trying to wrap my brain around it.   He will be seen by three different therapists weekly until his third birthday here at the house.  Then, we have to start the process all over again to transition him into the Intermediate Unit.  That process normally takes six to nine months.  So , we are already behind.  And that also means a lot of driving back and forth.

I am still waiting for the full report and I am very blessed that I have a very supportive group of Mommies who are keeping me strong and have given me some great insight.  I also happen to have two cousins who are both speech pathologists.  Talk about lucky me…..

So, if you are keeping track…..Infertility, Multiples, Prematurity,Postpartum Depression, and now Global Developmental Delays.  That’s the story of the last few years.  Throw in some very rocky moments in my marriage…I almost forgot…..Hubby and I have VERY different ideas about parenting and GDD.

D’s Occupational Therapist is coming this morning.  M will visit with our wonderful next door neighbor for the hour so that there is minimal distraction for D.  It is going to be a long and draining day…..

Enhanced by Zemanta

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Absence Explained

  • Sheri says:

    Hang in there sweetie. Remember God has a plan for us all. Love to you and the Twinkies.

  • Kir says:

    I know that it seems like so much to wrap your heart and mind around, but it really is going to be ok.
    I’m here if you need me and thinking of you….LOTS!

  • Amy says:

    “this too shall pass” ~ i can’t count the times i’ve depended on this phrase. my youngest went through the iu speech intervention for speech delays from the time he was 2 until 2 1/2. he has been doing well until this past winter he started stuttering….just had him evaluated again but he only stuttered once the whole time we were there. don’t know if he’ll qualify again, so we wait. just want to encourage you and send you a smile – i understand how you feel, but you can’t blame yourself!

  • michelehaytko says:

    keeping you guys in prayer…

  • mackela says:

    Wow…I just started blogging and was trying to find other twin mommies blogs then I saw this post. Let me just say that I am going through almost the same thing with my twin boy and we have been in speech, OT, and now Behavior therapy. Just last week at his 2 year check up he failed the MCHAT yet again and they want to send him for further testing. I am having the same emotions as you could it be prematurity, what has went wrong… Hang in there somehow we will make it through all of this until. Thinking of you!

  • stephanie says:

    Sorry to hear about this development. I have been off the map for awhile and am way behind on what’s going on. I’ll keep you and the little man in my prayers that his development speeds up and the therapies help him.

    PS: love the new blog (not sure how long it’s been this way, sorry)

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Absence Explained at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta