What a week….

August 21, 2010 § 1 Comment

Stress Reduction Kit
Image by programwitch via Flickr

So it wasn’t bad enough that the twinkies came down with a case of the crankies and runny noses, but they also decided on a full on nap strike, complete with the “we are getting up in the middle of the night for no good reason” routine.  We had to postpone D’s first speech therapy session and one of his special instruction sessions.

Then…

Our lovely water company announces that they will be shutting off the water between 7 pm and 3 am to work on the water main.  So, I hurry to get a shower only to have the hubby run upstairs to tell me to hurry because there was a fire at his plant (he works in a Hazardous Materials processing facility) and that he had to go back to work.  This is on top of the fact that he has been working 12+ hours a day covering for one of his guys on vacation.

Then…

While in the basement, changing loads of the never ending laundry, I hear a dripping sound.  Upon further investigation, I see out water heater leaking from the top.  So, I shut off all the water to the house AGAIN!  Hubby comes home, turns just the hot water off so at least we can flush the toilets and brush our teeth.  I proceed to order a new hot water heater from Sears.com (which I have NEVER had a positive experience with…..ever…..something ALWAYS get screwed up….I don’t know how they are still in business) and pay almost $400 extra for the installation that was to happen yesterday.  So after 4 or 5 calls to Sears, a plumbing contractor shows up at 4 pm and informs me that we have several things out of code and it is going to cost another $200 to fix before he can even install the water heater……so now we are at $1100…..

but…

we have hot water again.

Oh, and on Wednesday, we went to the Montgomery County Intermediate Unit for D’s planning meeting.  I wish someone would have told me that D did not have to be there and that the hubby really didn’t need to be there and this was just a meeting to set up D’s evaluation in OCTOBER!   Yeah.  Not such a happy Mommy.  He turns 3 on October 16th and the evaluation is the 26th of October….then it will take them a few weeks to determine his specific therapies.  This is going to be a frigging circus….I can tell already.  Oh and of course, they put a big push on signing up for Medical Assistance (No thank you!).  I have heard HORROR stories about being on Medical Assistance and then not being able to see the doctors you really need to see, because they have opted out of providing care for MA…….due to the crappy reimbursement they would receive.

Oh….

And I had a crazy headache for 6 days in a row…..due to my TMJ.  So in the midst of all of this, I drove and hour to my dentist’s office where he made me a new appliance so I won’t grind my teeth at night…..(yeah….no stress here!)

So far…this month has pretty much sucked.

Except for when M told me she loved me over the phone.

I melted.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to What a week….

  • Cousin Sara says:

    I don’t like how PA provides services… There shouldn’t be a lapse in services.

    Also, if it’s like in MA, signing up for supplemental insurance (not switching to it entirely) shouldn’t disqualify you from receiving services. There might be places that don’t accept it, but they should still accept your other insurance. At least I’m pretty sure that’s how it works here…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What a week…. at A Mama 2 Twins.

meta

